The Thomas Lord is named after the founder of Lord's Cricket Ground.
Thomas (born 23 November 1755, died 13 January 1832) was an English professional cricketer who played first-class cricket from 1787 to 1802.
He made a brief comeback, playing in one further match in 1815. Overall, Lord made 90 known appearances in first-class cricket. He was mostly associated with Middlesex as a bowler.
At the request of two members of the aristocracy he developed a new ground for their cricket club, The White Conduit Club, which later became the MCC, eventually based at the ground which still today bears Lord’s name.
Thomas found a charming spot when he retired to our picturesque village of West Meon back in 1830.
Nowadays, his exploits are honoured by The Thomas Lord pub, just a few steps away from the churchyard in which he lies buried.